tuscl

Strippers now treated as employees. Sort of.

JohnSmith69
layin low but staying high
A stripper friend was telling me recently that she now gets paid an employee salary with taxes deducted and is no longer treated as an independent contractor. The details weren't 100% clear cause it's a new system, but she said that her wage is reduced by what she makes from dances. So if her salary for the day is $100, and she makes $150 from dances, she walks away with $150. But if she only makes $50 from dances she'd walk away with $100. The girls still have to tip out at the end of the night but I'm not sure how the tip out is treated in determining whether or not they made more or less than their salary for the night.

I'm no employment lawyer but I'm not sure that this hybrid system is legally permissible in which strippers are sort of treated like employees but keeping the old system where they usually just take what they make in dances while giving the club its cut. Obviously this is in response to all of the dancer lawsuits claiming that they are really employees. As best I could tell there is not much of a practical difference from the dancers perspective except that on an especially slow night they are at least guaranteed their modest salary even if they sell no dances.

Anybody else seen this? I assume this is the model that most clubs will eventually move to if courts allow it. I guess it could be a good thing if it allows the clubs to impose reasonable control over dancers conduct.

28 comments

• JohnSmith69
    9 years ago
    Another practical impact of this is that the IRS will have a much better record of what strippers earn. This would seem to provide yet another argument for why a stripper should earn as much money as possible OTC.
  • Call.Me.Ishmael
    9 years ago
    It's possible that her new employment designation resulted from a complaint or lawsuit like this one.

http://m.providencejournal.com/article/2…

Ishmael
  • JamesSD
    9 years ago