tuscl

OT: Does anyone else here enjoy cooking?

rickdugan
Verified and Certifiable Super-Reviewer
Tuesday, August 30, 2022 1:48 AM
Ok I have to admit, recently I've been like Betty-Fucking-Crocker. I've been a decent functional cook for a long time, but over the past year I've really been upping my game. I could always grill well, but lately it's gone to another level with marinades that I've been developing. I've learned that for many meats to truly absorb the flavors, they have to marinate for at least 24 hours. Kuddos to the Food Network for that, which is on pretty much all weekend in my house. I'm also learning that everything is better with sauces and gravies. My beef and chicken gravies are getting stupid good and my red sauce has been excellent for a long time, but recently I've added a variety of cheese sauces to my repertoire. I have also made dishes like beef stroganoff and alfredo recipes for the first time. Otherwise I just keep improving on the margins. Again I credit the never-ending Food Network shows for a lot of it. My coatings for oven baked meats have picked up more spices, I've learned better broiling techniques for some meats, I've been expanding into a variety of seafood with poaching or wine reductions, etc., etc. When I add all of these new things to the what I could already do well, I'm starting to become a respectably decent cook. And no motherfuckers, I may sound a bit gay saying all of this, but I'm still straight, lol. Shit, tonight just for shits and giggles I whipped up a batch of chocolate chip cookies for the kiddos. My baking repertoire is definitely much more limited, but I have a few go-to items that I'm looking to expand on. Tbh I don't have a lot of time to indulge in anything beyond the basics during the week, but I wonder if I shouldn't have been a chef in another lifetime. Anyone else enjoy cooking?

76 comments

• conan_mac_morna
    2 years ago