tuscl

How "female" is your profession?

skibum609
Massachusetts
I am a divorce lawyer. While the legal profession is majority male, the divorce bar from Judges all the way down to session clerks is overwhelmingly female. 2/3 of judges; 2/3 of reigistrars; 65% of probation officers; 2/3 of session clerks and 75% of all practiitioners, but over 90% of practiotioners under 35. Howz bout you? Do any of you deal with women continuously as a minority? How about a right wing; republican; misogynist; dealing with progressive women in the people's republic 24/7 and living to tell about it?

58 comments

• Its not just that the legal profession= majority male. I think its important to note that THERE ARE NOT THAT MANY MORE MALE LAWYERS compared to female ones , not because i want to "one up men"(thats lame), buy rather bc i think its great when any profession has almost equal.amounts of both genders

1) https://www.bestlawyers.com/article/wome…

2) another webstite reported that among lawyers, 44% were female.not too far frok 50.
  • san_jose_guy
    5 years ago
    Interesting discussion. I have never worked in any situation which is not overwhelmingly male. I don't think I would like to work in any kind of other realm either.

SJG
  • RandomMember
    5 years ago
    @SkiBirther

The women that you work with probably think of you as a cranky, harmless, relic from a bygone era -- much as we do.
  • san_jose_guy
    5 years ago
    For myself, my work situations have always been markedly different from female dominated realms.

I have known women who work in such realms and we have discussed them much. Very different from what I am used to.

Place I worked, women interviewees had run off after the basic tour.

More in common with a war zone, than with a female dominated work environment.

SJG
  • Btw..@ ski..how are.ppl not supposed to label you as a misogynist or sexist when i vividly recall u sayong on here that women are the weaker sex??

SMH .....
  • san_jose_guy