tuscl

Why Do Strippers Strip

Papi_Chulo
Miami, FL (or the nearest big-booty club)

A pretty honest and to the point thread from a dancer on SW; IMO.

From SW – “dancing spoiled me for the 9-5 grind. anyone relate?”

i started bartending and dancing to get through school; i majored in dance and also took business classes just for my own interests. I kept dancing for a few years after graduating - there are definitely downsides to club dancing obviously, but WOW do i miss the autonomy. Making my own schedule and hours, working 3 nights a week and having loads of free time to work on my own projects (choreographing, practicing, putting shows together with local companies...), working with my circadian rhythms (i'm a night owl)...

Then the money started going downhill with the recession and all. I got to the point where it just wasn't working financially anymore. everyone was pushing me to go back to school for "something practical". so i went back and got a nursing degree. holy crap, i do not know how people survive in jobs like this. obviously i'm spoiled. i cannot stand following silly corporate policies that make no sense, reporting to a boss every day, having someone else tell me when to work, working 40 hours a week, getting up at the buttcrack of dawn, and having no energy or time left over for what's important to me. Even worse than all that is knowing that I'm breaking my back to make someone else rich. There's no opportunity for more. It's so NOT motivating to know that i can never make more than $x per hour no matter what. One thing i liked about dancing was challenging myself to hit $ goals every night, pushing myself to see how much I could make.

am i alone in this, or has dancing spoiled anyone else here? I'm starting on a business experiment now and am energized about it in a way that I never am about going to work for someone else and doing a job that bores me.

https://www.stripperweb.com/forum/showth…

24 comments

• mjx01
    11 years ago