tuscl

How much money have you saved / strippers lost with the lockdowns

Meursault
Missouri
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 11:01 AM
Since I have quit business travel (in April) I estimate that I have saved about $4000 that otherwise would have been spent on strippers/booze. It doesn't directly affect me since that is all disposable income, but I'm old. Most strippers are in their 20s and I really don't want to think about how bad losing all my income would have been when I was a starving student.

27 comments

• mark94
    4 years ago
    Thousands. Don’t worry too much about the strippers. I assume most are getting the $600 per week. That ends July 31. TheIr desperation begins August 1. Assuming clubs are open by then, I expect a shift in the atmosphere.
  • Papi_Chulo
    4 years ago
    ^ gig workers make up 41% of the total of those receiving UI benefits: [view link]
  • Papi_Chulo
    4 years ago
    I've been moving pretty-much all my extra/disposable $$$ I have into the market - thus hard to know how much I've saved - in the past when I'd stop SCing for a while, I'd notice my bank-account swell and I could more easily tell how much I was saving, but now I don't keep that much in my bank-account b/f moving it over to the market.
  • ime
    4 years ago
    i've been making deposits to my Roth early and often.
  • skibum609
    4 years ago
    Since 5/23 I have been 5 times so I am close to even since then. Prior to that about ... well, millions lol.
  • Eve
    4 years ago
    Savings and income have actually increased since the lockdown started (ignoring UI). Supplemental income is great.
  • TheElmerFudd
    4 years ago
    I’m in the same boat in that it’s all discretionary income outside of necessities and savings, so it’s whatever from my personal finance perspective. I’d much rather be able to spend it on clubbing than save it.
  • SuperDude
    4 years ago