tuscl

Bringing ATF home to meet the wife

gawker
Older than dirt
My ATF is a sweetheart - she's now in her late 20's and still has the body of a teenager. She and I have been spending time together for about 6 years and while there's been plenty of ups and downs we generally still enjoy each other's company. She's been a heroin addict since she was 15 and has been in and out of rehab dozens of times. About 5 months ago she realized that the drugs were winning and if she was ever going to have a real life, she needed to get straight. She went to court, self reported her addiction and was sentenced to a secure treatment facility for 30 days. When that was completed she went to a half way house. She was getting 75 mg. of methadone when she started and last week got dropped down to 8 mg. - almost clean.
My wife and I have been married for 46 years. About 6 years ago she was diagnosed as having early onset Alzheimers Disease. She's being treated by the best memory disorders unit in America and her decline has been slowed through regular speech and language therapy, group counseling, socialization classes, etc.