tuscl

(Off Topic) Need Advice-How to Deal

Okay, so my Manager has some good managerial skills (administratively speaking), but when it comes to operations, she is a flat zero. She considers me the great, all seeing, all knowing Oracle of operations. When a high rise loses power and/or water, I know how to troubleshoot and fix the problem. With that said:

On Saturday night, a call center that I have very little to do with, had a catastrophic software failure. I shrugged it off as there's nothing I can do about it. On Sunday morning, she called me and pissed in my Rice Krispies-big time. In the first place, I'm an Engineer, not a software engineer (HUGE Difference). She referenced an email she sent out three weeks ago.

This morning, my direct Supervisor found the email. The email was a conversation between people in the call center about who they would call in case of failure. The email had no instructions for me.

Am I correct in thinking this woman is out of control ?

8 comments

• CTQWERTY
    14 years ago
    What's your direct supervisor's opinion of the manager, assuming they're not the same person?
  • wallanon
    14 years ago
    If there's a published call tree and you're not in it for a given issue, you should be fine. Of course there are exceptions to every rule. But...if it's not in your area of expertise then the grown folks in the loop should realize that, which then gets back to you should be fine.
  • Dudester
    14 years ago
    That she's over reacting because she got caught with her pants down (she should've set a policy instead of just forwarding the conversation).
  • winorhino
    14 years ago