tuscl

I’ve Seen This Mole Before!

reverendhornibastard
Depraved Deacon of Degeneracy
I can’t remember who it was, but someone said the best test of a man’s character is to shower him with good fortune.

I was tested in this way.

I flunked the test with flying colors.

I think I was a nicer person when I was a penniless student.

But when I graduated and became a lawyer, I changed for the worse.

It wasn’t the legal profession that made me a bad person. I think becoming a practitioner of any highly paid profession would have produced the same unflattering result on my dented and needy psyche.

Suddenly I had money for a change. Suddenly a lot more women thought I was hot stuff. Many of them were obviously gold-diggers but many others were just ordinary young women with stars in their eyes who dreamed of having children who could attend the best schools, go on Caribbean cruises at Christmas break, skiing vacations at spring break and see Europe during the summers.

But instead of being some young woman’s dream come true, I became the boyfriend and husband from hell. Don’t believe me? Just ask Mrs. Hornibastard #1 or Mrs. Hornibastard #2. Or ask any of the many other women on whose hearts I tap danced.

Then things got immeasurably worse.

After three years in London, my employer thought it would be a good idea to send me to work in Southeast Asia. I was there for 15 years.

They pay you a lot of extra money to go work in a place that has malaria, cholera, dengue fever, world-class air and water pollution, near constant gridlocked traffic and terrorism. And all the extra benefits they provide are tax-protected.

So you can imagine why I soon became convinced that my shit didn’t stink.

To compound the problem, I was now in a part of the world where I found most of the local women incredibly attractive and where most of the local women thought having a foreign boyfriend or husband like me was a status symbol.

I went totally ape-shit.