tuscl

Strip Club Music

EastCoaster
I strongly prefer women of color. Every color.
Wednesday, November 25, 2015 7:36 AM
As a working musician, I'm usually drawn instinctively to any music I hear, but in a strip club I tend not to pay much attention to it (unless it's too loud to allow conversation) because my focus is always on the girls. However, I want to pose a couple of questions to the group here on TUSCL to see if any of you can shed light on a particular kind of music that I hear only in strip clubs. Let me add that in my life outside the clubs, I don't hear much rap or hip-hop, and regardless of the genre, I am usually focused more on the music than on the lyrics. However, there are times when something I hear really stands out in one way or another. What I'm asking about today is the kind of songs where the lyrics are specifically about strippers, lap dances, and VIPs, or they are so sexually graphic that I doubt the songs could be played on the radio. There's one song I've heard where in the auto-tuned chorus the guy sweetly croons "You know I really wanna fuuuuuuuck you..." and another where the girl says "I wanna show you my pussy." There are others, but you get the idea and I'm sure you've heard this type of lyrics before. Yes, I'm aware that in 1975, Barry White recorded "Love Serenade, " which includes the lyrics "I wanna see you the way you came into the world, I don't wanna feel no clothes, I don't wanna see no panties. And take off that brassiere, my dear." But what I'm hearing today seems much more explicit. My questions: Are songs like these played on the radio anywhere? Are they available on services like SiriusXM, Spotify, or Pandora? Are there studios that produce music just for strip clubs? Are there artists who make a living in this genre? Is there a name for this genre? Have I just been living under a rock and this is somehow mainstream now and I missed the launch party? Inquiring minds want to know.

15 comments

• rockstar666