tuscl

Have you been asked to show your ID lately before you can buy a beer?

Sunday, August 2, 2009 7:59 PM
I was surprised I was being asked to show my ID last night before I could buy a beer at a restaurant. Maybe the girl just wanted to see who I was. I certainly didn't think I looked that young. Do all of you older guys still get asked to show your ID before you go into a strip club (that you're not known at) or if you're buying drinks? Maybe I should consider it a compliment if a girl is asking to see my ID.

9 comments

• steve229
    15 years ago
    Sadly, the days of getting carded have passed me by. The old time I show an ID now is when I'm trying to get the senior discount.
  • casualguy
    15 years ago
    I was actually quite surprised I was being asked for my ID last night. Maybe she thought I was suspicious sitting down at the bar right next to the 21 sign they had posted and was wondering if I was a cop. I sat at a table for 5 minutes with no service so I moved to the bar.
  • shadowcat
    15 years ago
    I'm 67 now but got ID'd a year ago buying a pack of cigarettes at a gas station in Augusta GA. My usual grocery store will ask for my birth date when buying cigarettes but I do not get ID'd unless I purchase booze. The liquor stores that I frequent NEVER ask for my ID. The places that do this are doing so because they have been busted for selling to underage people. It is managements way of preventing this from happening again. NO EXCEPTIONS! Strip clubs that I have been to will check for ID's at the door if there is any question about your age. The over 18 but under 21 are admitted but have to wear a glow in the dark wrist band. I have been ID'd by strippers that don't believe how old I am. A long long time ago on my buddies 21st birthday his dad took us to Vegas. He looked very boyish but never got ID'd for buying a drink but when he won a small jack pot on a slot machine, they checked.
  • jablake
    15 years ago