tuscl

OT: Barbershop / Obituary

Itsmytime
I’ve had enough and I can’t take it any more
In the past I never made an appointment for a haircut. I'd just go to the barbershop and my barber would fit me into his schedule. I never waited too long and always enjoyed the banter with the barber and the other customers.

Today in the newspaper I saw my Barber's obituary. After 20+ years I need to find a new barber. I don't even know where to start. I hate the feel of the chain store shops and a good sole proprietor is hard to find. Sucks to lose a good service provider.

And, anyone else find that as you get older the obituaries seem to make for interesting reading?

15 comments

• shadowcat
    7 years ago
    I've been using the same barber for 25 years. I moved 3 years ago but still drive the 8 miles to get my hair cut. He used to even do house calls to the apartment of my invalid father to cut his hair. Fortunately his son has been cutting hair there too for the last 5 years. No appointments. I don't read obituaries.
  • Cashman1234
    7 years ago
    I used to drive back to my hometown to go to my old barber. He was a good man, and he would recognize my voice when I’d call to make sure he was still there.

He got a red corvette when I was in college - and he took me for a ride in it. He knew how to drive fast! I’ll never forget that drive.

There aren’t many of those barbers left.

I try to not read the obits - as it takes too long. I remember folks and their families - so I had to stop.
  • tumblingdice
    7 years ago
    I only get the Sunday paper and yes I read the obits.There is a multitude of people that I owe a debt of gratitude.As far as haircuts go my girl is so good(and you pay for it)that you have to book your next cut that day.She finishes the cut by sculpting with a straight razor.
  • rh48hr
    7 years ago