tuscl

OT: shotgun for a 14 year old?

NinaBambina
Who the fuck is Ninabambina?
Thursday, February 2, 2017 2:20 PM
My little bro turns 14 in a couple months and I am getting him a shotgun. He is a total beginner, no experience. I don't want to get him a 12 guage because that will have a heavy kickback which wouldn't be good for a beginner plus he is lanky. But I don't want to get him a 28 guage. How about a 20 guage? Is that appropriate? Any info on specific guns that might be good for a 14 yr old beginnger would be helpful, I want to get him a really nice one. However I'm getting him a couple other expensive gifts so I guess I want to find the best gun for a beginner under $500 that is also "cool" (coolness is important to people his age).

75 comments

• K
    7 years ago
    I recommend a few classes and sessions at a range first and see how he handles it first. I am sure his instructor will be happy to help you choose the correct one for him
  • twentyfive
    7 years ago
    He would be better off with a .22 caliber Marlin rifle or something like that any good gunshop would give you reasonable advice. BTW under $500 is too expensive for a 14YO, keep it under $250.
  • Corvus
    7 years ago
    If you are going to get a 14 year old a shotgun a 20 gauge single shot would be a good option. If not a single shot then a pump action. I would not buy a 14 year old a semiautomatic. Mossberg is an OK brand, but Remington or Winchester are great options. I assume he is competent and lives in a rural area where he can hunt? And hunter education and gun safety courses can not be recommended highly enough.
  • impala
    7 years ago