tuscl

Notes from a N00B at the SC

(A mostly true PG-rated story.)

I am a newbie when it comes to strip clubs. I have only been to a handful. I'm not saying I'm better or worse than anyone here, but those are the facts. I did a lttile homework here on tuscl, and here is my report.

As far as this story, I like to tell myself I wasn't being played, and that there was a glimmer of human interaction instead of just transaction. I like to tell myself that the attraction wasn't just one way.

I was going to Atlanta for a conference, and of course I knew what Atlanta was famous for. The Atlanta gentleman's club I chose,let's call it the "Panther," had an ironic self-description, calling itself an "upscale strip bar," one of the funnier descriptions I had heard in a long time. I took the bait.

I walked in alone and pays my $12, feeling a little sheepish as the middle age woman at the counter took my cash. I probably don't look like the typical customer. Did I detect a slight look of disapproval on her face, or did I just see my own reflection?

The entrance looked innocuous enough, a red carpet and velvet ropes. After rounding a sharp corner, it's actually somewhat bright. The main stages are in a U-shape, a large room with a lot of tables inside the U. There are a few patrons here and there, maybe 7 or 8 girls scattered over three stages. The bars are backlit, and the glow of the stage lights up the girls from below. No poles, no pounding music, no making it rain. As I said, this club considers itself classy. Of course the seats were occupied by mostly dudes, but there were more women custies than I expected, may 10 % of the crowd.