tuscl

Ever get tired of hearing tornado sirens?

Wednesday, May 6, 2009 3:47 AM
I thought they were through but now I hear some more. Time to check out [view link] and look at the interactive radar map again. I didn't even know about yesterday's tornado until today.

10 comments

• casualguy
    15 years ago
    If I was at Platinum Plus in Columbia, the sirens would likely have to be louder than a jet engine to be heard over the sound system. I think last weekend you wouldn't have been able to hear the jet engine. At least I can still hear.
  • Dudester
    15 years ago
    The town I grew up in used it's big ass air raid siren for two purposes: 1) Curfew 10 p.m. every night, one quaver 2) To summon the volunteer firefighters. Three quavers = brush fire, seven = house fire, ten or more = drop what you're doing, it's really really bad (usually an orange glow in the sky). I was a volunteer firefighter. In the days before pagers, we got our message from the siren and location from the Police. At night, that siren would send shivers up my spine. It's been a proven fact for nearly 40 years now that a firefighter's blood pressure doubles the moment that he/she gets the call-which is why heart attacks kill more firefighters than anything else.
  • Notsosly
    15 years ago
    Haven't heard one in probably 30 years. Where I grew up right outside of DC, we had them, but I seem to remember adults telling me they were also air-raid sirens. It was the height of the Cold War/nuclear threat hysteria in the late 70's/early 80's, and DC was ground zero, so it might have some merit.
  • shadowcat
    15 years ago