tuscl

“Mutant Soup” and Our Bi-racial, Bi-cultural, Multi-lingual Clusterfuck

reverendhornibastard
Depraved Deacon of Degeneracy
Mrs. Hornibastard #3 and I have been together quite a while. We have been very happy in our relationship. Much happier than anyone would have predicted we would be.

On paper, we make an improbable couple. There were, and still are, so many things that divide us. Mrs. Hornibastard #3 is so much younger than I am. She is easily young enough to be my daughter. I am from West Texas. She is from East Java. She is a devout Muslim. I am an atheist. I am an attorney and she has only a very limited formal education. I’m fairly stupid and she is uncommonly bright. When we first met I could barely speak any of the languages that she speaks fluently and she could not speak any of the languages that I spoke.

Despite the hurdles, we have made a very happy life together and now have 10 year old twins.

But to this day, even though she now speaks English reasonably well and I have learned to speak Indonesian well enough to draft contracts in that language, we often have great difficulty understanding each other.

Simple matters like the distinction between “today” and “tomorrow” are often the basis for our misunderstandings. For Mrs. Hornibastard #3, “tomorrow” begins at the next sunrise. For me, “tomorrow” begins at the next midnight. If we get up in the wee hours of the morning, she might speak about going to a friend’s house for lunch “tomorrow.” I used to get confused and said things like, “You said we were going to lunch at your friend’s house today.” Eventually I began to understand that, if what I would call “today’s sunrise” is still in future, then as far as she is concerned, it’s not “tomorrow” yet. In her mind we are still in what I would now call “yesterday.”