tuscl

4th of July, 234 years later.

Sunday, July 4, 2010 12:52 PM
First off, I hope you all have a happy, safe 4th of July,(even you, londonguy) LOL, that was a turbulent time in both of ours history. No one can stand being a slave forever, as we had become in Great Britain's view. Let's be grateful for our experience over the last few hundred years, we aren't perfect, that's for sure. Our political discussions here are proof positive. That's fine, I don't claim to be right all the time. I celebrate our freedom and freedom of speech. Traveling as I have, both here in the USA and other countries reinforce the strength in diversity we have, along with the problems ensuing when cultures clash. We have a gem here, let's polish it and continue, America's place in the sun isn't over yet. Happy 4th to everyone, be safe, let's enjoy the day!

26 comments

• Dudester
    14 years ago
    Being a veteran, I remember the reason for the day. For many, it's just about bar b q's and drinking mass quantities of beer. For me, it's about the flag and getting a lump in my throat when I hear patiotic songs.
  • steve229
    14 years ago
    And I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free. And I wont forget the men who died, who gave that right to me. And I gladly stand up, next to you and defend her still today. ‘ Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land, God bless the USA.
  • steve229
    14 years ago
    ^^^^ I now its corny, but I can still remember Lee Greenwood singing that song at a 4th of July celebration at Ft. Hood, TX right after Desert Storm. That was a real lump in the throat moment.
  • how
    14 years ago
    Happy Independence Day! America is the greatest nation yet established; may we defend liberty always...
  • georgmicrodong
    14 years ago