tuscl

Military Discounts

doctorevil
Evil Lair
The “tipping the door girl” thread got me thinking about this. I don’t know how many of you are aware, but many clubs offer a military discount on the cover charge. By discount, I mean free, in most cases. Sometimes it’s actually a discount, usuallly 50%. My informal guesstimate is that over half do this. I usually ask if the cover charge is $10 or more; if $5 I don’t bother because it seems kinda cheap to ask when the door charge is that low. It seem more frequent in the South. Molly Browns in Daytona Beach actually used to comp the cover and the first drink, but they stopped doing this recently. Moms Venus would com the door charge and the first dance—a really good deal (don’t know if they still do this). Anyway, if ask and they give me the discount, I tip the door girl a buck or two, otherwise not.

12 comments

• shadowcat
    7 years ago
    I'm a vet and have never encountered a discount. I'm still looking for a senior citizen discount. :)
  • max_starr
    7 years ago
    I'm a vet too, but I don't go around asking for military discounts...I was given one at autozone when the manager spied my vet plates on my car though lol..
  • doctorevil
    7 years ago
    I can’t remember the first time I got the discount. I think the door guy saw my mil ID in my wallet and said military was free, so I started asking and it turns lots of places do it. If they say no, no big deal. They don’t owe me anything. But if that’s their policy, I’ll take advantage if it. By the way, Home Depot has a 10% mil discount on just about everything.
  • realDougster
    7 years ago
    So that’s why Vince Michaels goes to the club in his old ‘Nam tiger stripe cammies
  • londonguy
    7 years ago
    I'm ex forces but don't seek to gain free entry because of it.
  • realDougster
    7 years ago
    @londonguy - Were you in the SAS like Vince?
  • Cashman1234
    7 years ago