tuscl

Biggest threat to strip clubs ever?

Look for a lot of strip clubs to close soon, even if they aren't doing anything illegal. Local governmetns now have a new weapon at their disposal. I'm not a lawyer (thank God) but it seems to me that yesterday's Supreme Court ruling, which removed local government restrictions on their use of eminent domain, means that any local government can now seize any private property if they don't like the use to which the property is being put. Five liberal judges voted for reducing rights of private property owners, four conservative judges voted against. I don't know about you but I for one am really tired of activist liberal judges rewriting our laws and taking away our freedoms. Little wonder that conservatives keep gaining strength.

20 comments

• FONDL
    19 years ago
    Yoda, you better check again because nowhere in the constitution is there any mention of separation of church and state.
  • AbbieNormal
    19 years ago
    parodyman, I think I could say all the same things about government, but governments can arrest and jail you whereas religions have to convince you. Which is the bigger threat?
  • AbbieNormal
    19 years ago
    Oh, and one last thing, most religions are very clear that your salvation is up to you. They may claim that they can instruct you on the best method, but the decision has to be yours. Governments will save you wether you like it or not.
  • Yoda
    19 years ago
    FONDL: The last time I checked, church and state where already seperated by the constitution. As they should be.
  • parodyman-->
    19 years ago
    Sorry FONDL: Religous institutions care about perpetuating their growth. They only care about closely guarding the lies that they use to instill fear in common people so that they will join and financially support the institution. Don't count on organized religion to be the savior of the people. This is something people need to do for themselves.
  • AbbieNormal
    19 years ago