tuscl

Legally Laid? Detroit Council Candidate Pushes For Red Light District

jackslash
Detroit strip clubs
http://detroit.cbslocal.com/2013/02/14/l…

A red light district for Detroit? I feel the strip clubs don't need the competition.

13 comments

• dalex
    12 years ago
    logical idea
  • Ermita_Nights
    12 years ago
    I think it would work best as part of a larger entertainment district that includes restaurants, civilian bars, music venues, hotels, and other attractions. Kind of like Bourbon Street. Maybe somewhere in the Lafayette / St. Antoine area.
  • Club_Goer_Seattle
    12 years ago
    Having worked in city planning, particularly zoning for over twenty years, I have some background in this subject. See my article: "Strip Clubs in Industrial Areas," posted February 23, 2011:
    https://www.tuscl.net/postread.php?PID=1…

In the article, I mentioned that there are three methods used to regulate the location of strip clubs. The most common is to simply limit their locations to industrial zones, the subject of the article. Another is to assign rigid distance requirements, so that strip clubs and other adult businesses are located a minimum distance (often 500 ft. or more) from schools, churches, parks, residential areas, etc. This often forces strip clubs into industrial zones, as no other location would actually meet the distance requirements.

The least used of the three methods, is what this Detroit city council candidate, Atti Pollard, is proposing. Among city planners, his method was known as the "combat zone" theory. This is where all adult businesses are prohibited from a city, except in one, single location. Boston tried this decades ago, maybe in the 1970's. (I haven't looked into this since the 1980's.) I believe it was deemed a dismal failure and was changed after a short period of time.