tuscl

Working Hard At Your Job? Not As Hard As This Guy

shailynn
They never tell you what you need to know.
http://nypost.com/2016/11/06/teacher-who…

Simply amazing guy. Wonder who he's voting for?

10 comments

• gawker
    8 years ago
    In my 10 years working as an educational consultant I saw such abuses all over the country. In NJ there was a teacher who taught 2 periods per day, 1 student period 1 and two students during period 2. . He started "work" at 7:30, finished teaching by 9:00 and left the building by noon. His annual salary? $134,000.
    For every abuse of this nature, I saw hundreds of hard working, dedicated teachers, but a rip-off like this guy, who was scheduled to retire at the end of the year, stands out and taints all of the others.
  • san_jose_guy
    8 years ago
    Being a school teacher is a very hard and thankless and underpaid job. Most of those who do it are dedicated, capable, and most well intentioned.

SJG
  • twentyfive
    8 years ago
    Hey slow your roll SJGuy explain how you think 94k for what amounts to a 8.5 month workload is underpaid. I admit teachers are important, but they only work I believe 36 weeks a year, in reality I believe most make a pretty decent living. This particular guy is saying that his talents are not being used, that is the issue here.
  • san_jose_guy
    8 years ago
    I'm talking about what most teachers do, the work is hard and demanding. Usually they are getting less than police officers.

It is a low status job, but those who do it usually are highly dedicated.

SJG
  • san_jose_guy
    8 years ago
    Summer School teaching does not pay that much. Often teachers have to take courses in the summer to stay current.

SJG
  • larryfishsticks
    8 years ago
    Larryfisherman takes summer classes, SJG tutors him during the school year.
  • flagooner
    8 years ago